If I Had Wings

I’d fly

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readMar 3, 2023

--

Photo by Majestic Lukas on Unsplash

Pieces of my inner self
Felt but not revealed
Encompassed in an envelope
It needs to be addressed and sealed.

Tenets of temerity
Words swirling never said
Dreams in another world
It was tucked away safely in bed.

Signals that are sacrosanct
A glance or light parlance
A secret way of saying
It is time to take a chance.

Inner understanding
Who knows what comes next?
The machinations of my mind
Sometimes leaves me vexed.

Miles of mixed emotions
Avenues of attitudes
Words without much meaning
Inches of platitudes.

Safe, secure, and locked away
Respected and renowned
Inviolate and misunderstood
It is enclosed, cloaked, and then crowned.

Love that sees the light of day.
A thought others can’t see.
A part of the heart is missing.
A lock without a key.

On the bridge above the ridge
Reaching for the sky
The arch is a golden rainbow.
If I had wings, I’d fly.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and wish to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.