In the Middle

Of nowhere.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readOct 1, 2023

--

Photo by Jordan Seott on Unsplash

I must declare I am aware
Life has its ups and downs
On one side there are smiles
On the other there are frowns

I’ve walked this track, then wandered back,
And since have sampled more,
In the middle of nowhere,
The same pain like before.

Desolate depressed and lonely,
Since the ship went down,
Clinging to the wreckage,
Thinking I might drown.

Before there were thoughts galore,
And summits to be reached,
Now I’m forlorn, after the storm,
Just like a whale, beached.

Holy hell and mackerel,
Where did the people go,
Now I’m here by myself,
For love or pity, I don’t know.

So the pages in the book,
Are stuck and hard to turn,
I cannot even imagine,
When good days will return.

Pick me up or I’ll erupt,
In volcanic emissions,
Lava flows and heaven knows,
If there’ll be better conditions.

My mind is like a whirligig,
As round and round it spins,
Unhappiness and desolation,
Seems is all it brings.

In the middle of nowhere,
No signs to show the way,
Floundering in deep water,
Getting through another day.

©

David Rudder
2012

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.