Incantations

Marching in my mind

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJan 18, 2023

--

Photo by George Hiles on Unsplash

In formation incantations
Marching in my mind
I pray for peace and solitude.
No tranquillity can I find.

Spells hex and sorcery
Magic mystique and romance
Lead me up the garden path
On their merry dance.

Down the hallway, out the door
Into another realm
Designed to flabbergast my mind
And bound to overwhelm.

Peace is resistance.
Harmony is homogenised
I’m fused in a new confusion.
Let’s say I’m not surprised.

Take a step to the right.
One left and two behind.
The dance of the diabolist
The trouble I’m bound to find.

I asked for mea culpa.
And got what I deserved.
The devil and the deep blue sea
A place I have reserved.

Let me take a spell somewhere.
Away from sin and stealth
Gold coins for a rich man
Won’t improve my inner health.

I’m on the road to nowhere.
Someone, show me the way.
Expel my spell of lassitude
And spirit me away.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and wish to read more.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.