Indelible

Moments.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJul 13, 2023

--

Photo by David Gylland on Unsplash

Sometimes I float like a boat
Drifting on currents in the ocean
The sea and sky leave me high
And move in moments of slow motion.

Winged clouds float on the far horizon
Forming backdrops for the perfect storm
In soliloquy my mind’s liberated
As I stay both safe and warm.

The different changes in the weather
For each and every backdrop of my mood
Every heartache and the short trip to heaven
Places where I reminisce and brood.

In the evening night drops her broken blanket
The stars bloom in sequins of surprise
Backdropped by the delicate finger
Of a new moon floating in the skies.

Reflected by patterns on my window
Traced by the mirror of the night
Insights framed by the backdrops
Knowledge gained in a new light.

Night clouds settle softly on the ocean
The air is damp with morning dew
Morning spreads her silvery fingers
Greys turn to green then blue.

Indelible moments of participation
Form the backdrop of my life
As svelte as a band of thin lightening
Cutting through my mind like a knife.

In between moments of satisfaction
Camouflage and backdrops of dark palls
Rain-filled clouds float in from the ocean
Drifting past in silvery rain squalls.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.