Into the Spires

Of light.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readDec 5, 2023

--

Photo by Wonderlane on Unsplash

Elysian ending my heart is mending,
Into the spires of light,
The light is bright and sending,
My spirits to states of delight.

In the green fields where hero’s rest,
Beneath majestic trees,
Those that have stood the test,
Are cooled by a gentle breeze.

I look into the endless sky,
The stars that shine at night,
And I know that when I die,
I’ll have finished the fight.

Periods of pestilence,
And particles of pain,
I know it’s only common-sense,
That after drought there’s rain.

Seeds sown are a mystery,
They wait till springtime comes,
And the rest is history,
The sound of far-off drums.

I watch and wait and meditate,
Then when the dawn arrives,
And before it gets too late,
A part of me survives.

Lost in Elysian Fields,
A place so far away,
And I wonder what the yields,
Will tally on the day.

Life is so intangible,
It’s no use pretending,
Mortals at the portals,
I seek an Elysian ending.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry. Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.