Is it Fact?

Or Fiction.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readMar 9, 2024

--

Photo by Valentin Lacoste on Unsplash

Some sing in the shower
Whilst others pluck the vine.
To slip out of the mundane.
My preference is rhyme.

When my mind is crowded
With dark clouds of grey
I put it into verse
To make it go away.

Once written, it’s forgotten.
It loses its momentum.
Even a stinging remark
is tricked out of its venom.

Is it fact or fiction?
How much can my mind take?
I’d instead take a canoe.
And carouse out on the lake.

Go off on a spree
Then write it down in verse.
And have a free license.
To disburse the perverse.

Now I’m getting older.
And often forget this and that.
Like where I put the car keys
My wallet and the cat.

I prefer then to have excuses.
And call it blissful ignorance.
That I’m in a euphoric state of mind
And they are exhibiting indifference.

I now have what I wished for
Fewer neurons and grey matter
And as the hearing disappears.
All I hear is distant chatter.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.