Is it Real

Or supernatural.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readFeb 11, 2024

--

Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

I saw it with my own two eyes
And jumped to the conclusion
What I saw was genuine
And not an optical illusion.

I watched it from my window
And traced its trajectory
Was it real or supernatural?
Sixth sense or extrasensory.

It disappeared before my eyes
One minute there then gone
It addled and mixed up my mind
Now I wondered what’s going on.

Is it real or a phenomenon?
Sometimes it’s hard to know
Is what I think is an illusion
Depicted many moons ago.

Each perception look, and glance
See only what’s been told
An old belief system
Purchased used and then resold.

Dark mysteries fly around my mind
Do I know what’s going on?
Or is life an alliance of memories
A Gospel agreed upon.

The flames I saw up in the sky
May well be my imagination
Or an optical illusion
Changing constantly in translation.

Though I know the winds that blow
Tilts the morning sun
Before turning upside down
Allowing the sea to run.

Or is it a premonition
A warning I should heed
A moment to rely upon
The sowing of a seed.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
Join Medium for as little as US$5 a month or US$15 a month to become a “Friend of Medium” and enjoy the experience of being paid for publishing your thoughts and reading an assortment of great poetry and stories, on this unique platform.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.