It is Time

To dance.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readMay 1, 2023

--

Photo by Timon Studler on Unsplash

I think I’ve covered everything
I had a list a mile long
But now all the chores are done
It is time to sing my song.

It has a catchy beat
And if you sing along
The chorus starts with rum, rum, rum
And a slapping beat from my thong.

Then there’s a flap and rustle
As I slip out of my sarong
And then a repeat of the run, run, run
A shrill whistle and a gong.

And then I do a hip cavort
Now please don’t get me wrong
If you like the jungle beat
Join in and come along.

We’ll form a conga line
Hips swivelling to the dong
Of short sharp slaps upon your thighs
Whilst chanting bong, bong, bong.

Now if you like the rhythm
And feel like you belong
Meet me on the sandy beach
We’ll make that line a mile long.

I’m glad that yesterday is done and dusted
And I’ve got everything done
And now I can sing cavort and swing
And on the beach, have fun, fun, fun.

So, if you’re interested
In being free and liking the beat
Finish up your chores, my friend
Join in and move your feet.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.