Lay Down Beside Me

In the moonlight.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readOct 30, 2023

--

Photo by Andy Henderson on Unsplash

Lay down beside me
In the moonlight
Let your fingers trail
O’er my bare skin
You are the one
That I do yearn for
Mere temptation
Has now turned within
Seen in silhouette
In silvery sunshine
Through swirling mists
Round the beauteous bay
Snowdrifts and rain
And rushing floodway’s
Enroute through the woods
Couldn’t keep me away
Shared memories
Gently circle around us
Is it a twist of fate
Chance or destiny
We meet talk and walk
And enjoy repartee
Then kiss lightly
And set ourselves free
Even though oceans
And skies separate us
Thoughts linger long
O’er days and nights
The soft morning sun
Washes our windows
The same sun
We both see in our flights
I feel your fine hair
And your tactile touch
Your sweet breath
Mingles close to my lips
I long to hold you close
In a sweet embrace
Then drink the nectar
Of you in small sips
In my dreams you
Are constantly present
Your flesh a feast
I yearn and desire
The strong grip of lust
Is deep as the ocean
Raw heat is lighting
And kindling my fire
Each day you are gone
I wonder and dream
Where you are
And what you are doing
Is it that you are the one
I yearn for
Or a mirage of
A new storm a brewing

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry. Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.