Life is a…

One-chance blessing.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readMar 6, 2024

--

Photo by Slav Romanov on Unsplash

Try as I may, time flies away
And nothing stays the same
No constants or certainties
Life is often like a game.

In and out of intricacies
Parallels are patrons
It may look or feel the same
protected by our aprons

Everyone is different
reactions are, magnified
I look for some consistency
And I am not satisfied.

Wherever there’s another
sister, brother, or a wife
to and fro joins the flow
Some say such is life.

Metaphoric minutes
Turn to hours and days
and understanding mystery
is just another phase.

Where has my life disappeared
Did I miss the last train?
Time stands still for no one.
These are the words to my refrain.

When I look into your eyes
I wonder where you are
Are you breathing in the wind
Or wandered far too far.

Nothing stays the same.
Will I ever learn the lesson?
I sit here and contemplate
Life’s a one-chance blessing.

© David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.