Like a Ship

In the night.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readJan 22, 2024

--

Photo by Graphic Node on Unsplash

Like a ship in the night
Passing out of sight
Friends of mine have come and gone.
each one, a shining light.

Most were unassuming
Quick-witted and kind
Never lost for words.
Never in a bind.

Quiet and smooth and witty
Drinking in the atmosphere
Never making waves
They were living without fear.

A love of words and music
Lending a helping hand
A connoisseur of living
Their footprints are in the sand.

They left me a legacy.
To be kind to one another.
Treat each other with respect.
Like a long-lost brother.

Friends are indispensable
Treat friendship like gold.
The joie de vivre of giving
As we all grow old.

Gone but not forgotten
They left a mark on me.
Their friendship has taught me.
The way that I should be.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
Join Medium for as little as US$5 a week and enjoy the experience of being paid for publishing your thoughts and reading an assortment of great poetry and stories.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.