Longing

In a song.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJun 22, 2022

--

Photo by Mor Shani on Unsplash

Words heard that are whispered,
breathed softly in my ear,
like lightning lifts my senses,
So soft and yet so clear.

A trance of muted moments,
my longing in a song,
words that say proper are here
And the left has come and gone.

I hear the words you whisper,
in sounds and symbols too,
the way you quietly beckon me,
Your words I walked into.

In the sounds of silence,
the resonance you own,
sieves the sonorous secrets,
I think I’ve always known.

Scents of sweet surrender,
words I long to hear,
tell them to me softly,
She murmured in my ear.

When we’re not together,
the promises and pledges,
cross the restless currents
To my senses on the edges.

In the quiet before the dawn,
your silky undertones,
eclipse my understanding,
Into unknown zones.

As morning is awakening,
words were so softly spoken,
tell me all I need to know,
Deeper than any ocean.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!
Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from

your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.