Making Sense

Of myself

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readJan 9, 2023

--

Photo by Nicholas Ng on Unsplash

Picking up the duster
Wiping off the words
Washing down the blackboard
I am feeling free as a bird.

Cleaning up collateral
Making pieces fit
Tidying up the table
And knowing when to quit.

Making sense of myself
The new view version
Cutting to the quick
And I am uncovering aversion.

Knowing where I’m going
Treading on new ground
Throwing the superfluous out
I am keeping what I’ve found.

Muddled by the mystery
I forgot who I was
Doing things my way
The reason is in another clause.

Distance is a dynamo.
That has my heart pumping.
Order the ignition
That has the senses jumping.

Now I can articulate
And use my freewill
Openness the energy
Circumstance the pill.

Removing explanations
The print left on the floor
The fresh breeze that’s blowing
Through my open door.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and wish to read more.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.