Memories

Unfold

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readAug 20, 2022

--

Photo by Roland Hechanova on Unsplash

There’s a forecast for rainy weather.
Leaves on the trees have turned to gold.
smoke drifts through the trees in the morning
As a new season gradually unfolds.

It’s time to rug up in the evening.
The cold seeps in before dawn.
There’s something in the air. It’s an omen.
Dewdrops glisten frozen on the lawn.

Whales are headed north to warmer waters.
The sun dips earlier in the afternoon.
Clouds crowd the southeast horizon.
Autumns gone. Winter’s descending soon.

Inside, my heart and soul are changing.
in subtle ways only known within
Glimpses of deep snow are abiding.
Next to memories of places where I’ve been

Sorted in my memory like photographs
lined up and then shuffled in a pack
Like a deck of cards, they are an omen.
A memory of the past is coming back.

Long before my memory has extended.
in another place and other time
Memories flood back then drifts in the wind.
A prophecy is floating past another sign.

I saw you walk by in the evening mist.
Then disappear like the wind into the night.
Was it a dream or an omen I was watching
As you evaporated out of sight

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Click below for unlimited access to all Medium stories and poems for less than US $1/week.

Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.