My Fingers

Caress the pages.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJun 13, 2023

--

Photo by Alice Hampson on Unsplash

There’s a book on my bedside table
Others on the shelves I have read
They are part of the way I am designed
Reading’s a piece of my daily bread.

A good book is as tactile as a lover
The feel of each page is a sensual touch
My fingers caress and turn the pages
A little bit’s ok a lot is never too much.

Mystery bides its time in the next chapter
Each paragraph is a step towards suspense
Characters develop whilst others disappear
Excitement lingers in the present tense.

There is tension as the plot thickens
And whodunit surprise
The characters become part of my family
And the villains mostly stay in disguise.

A book can be a portable companion
Take it on a bus ride or a flight overseas
Keep it close at hand and enjoy perusing
A good book guarantees to please.

When the weather is crook, and it’s raining
I curl up with a book near the fire
And am transported away to other places
A good book satisfies my heart’s desire.

Books have kept me informed
Amused and well-read in world affairs
My book is waiting on my bedside table
It washes away all my worries and cares.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.