On a Magic Carpet Ride

Beyond the veils of night

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readApr 2, 2023

--

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

On a magic carpet ride
Beyond the veils of night
Into the arms of the dream maker
Transferred and out of sight.

Falling through the heavens
Free of vertigo
Blown by the seven winds
As far as I can go.

Floating in the ether
And we are spreading freedom wings.
Transported past imagination
To the movement of heartstrings

Through forests of beauty
Deep green fields far below
Songs of unknown night birds
Footprints in the snow.

Through the glories of nature
To the highest spire of the sky
Singing with the storm clouds
From a golden tower on high.

Dream journeys into new worlds
I have only seen behind the night’s veil.
Spirited to unseen visions
In sleep trances, I swiftly set sail.

On a ship, I take a trip.
Past the moon and stars
When I return, will I burn
When I sailed past Mars.

Then in the silver moonlight
I slip upon a beam.
And reappear.
Life is but a dream.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and wish to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.