One Two Three

Sit on my knee.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readMay 16, 2022

--

Photo by Jonathan Sanchez on Unsplash

One two three
You and me
Then add another
I yell yippee
Can’t you see
The last one was my mother.

Three-four five
Take a dive
Now there are four
On the dance floor
Six seven eight
Don’t be late.

Look, there are seven.
Headed off to heaven
Nine ten eleven
Twelve, thirteen, and fourteen
Don’t dare turn your back
Who knows where you have been?

As the count gets longer
I feel stronger
Fifteen sixteen seventeen
Eighteen nineteen twenty
I have
All numbers in between.

One two three
She said to me
And I said to her
Why not sit on my knee
Can’t you see
That’s the way it should be.

The more I count
I try to recount
The way it used to be
When one and one made two
And we were free
To climb a tree.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.