Opening the Mind

Travel.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readMay 17, 2023

--

Photograph by Author. New Zealand.

Old thoughts fall out the window
Blown by winds of yesterday
Travel opens up my mind
Only when I’m away

Life has a new perspective
Possibilities in corridors
Places rarely visited
Turn to myriads in scores

Eyes were blind see again
As the world reappears
Fears, heartaches and uncertainties
What are the arrears

I question each opinion
And turns stones of the past
Opening oxygen and fluidity
And new dreams, the ones that last

Travelling o’er the ocean
To a different way of life
Opens new horizons
And reduces stress and strife

If I need inspiration
And the opening of my mind
I pack the bag and hit the road
And leave irrelevance behind

Hand in hand, we travel
Luck stands by our sides
Nature is our sustenance
And love our faithful guides

©

David Rudder
2013

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.