Pages

Turn to chapters.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readApr 22, 2023

--

Photo by Rayyu Maldives on Unsplash

I can’t erase the memory.
However hard I try
Early pages of life alight.
In the mere blink of an eye.

Pages then turn to chapters.
And periods of mime
With longer interludes
And steeper curves to climb.

Then come the episodes.
Imprinted on my mind
Some beautiful, some sad
Hard to leave behind.

Phases take on aspects.
Abstract shapes and form
Happiness and heartache
Change the appearance and transform.

Some phases ease in gradually.
Then wind down when they’re done.
We were only staying for a short time.
Then up and on the run.

I saw a shadow passing.
Behind the opaque glass
Delphic and enigmatic
Then disappear and pass.

These periods are smudged.
And sometimes, they do not connect.
The stages of my life
So hard to resurrect.

Tracing time and phases
Through steps and other spells
It is like listening to the seven seas.
Through whispering seashells

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.