Pieces of Parsimony

Counting every dollar

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readNov 26, 2022

--

Photo by A. L. on Unsplash

Pieces of parsimony,
Counting every dollar,
All she wants is money,
I hear her yell and holler.

Being underhanded,
Telling blatant lies,
Leaving others stranded,
You know it’s mine, she cries.

Materialistic moments,
Seem to fill her days,
As the fiddling foments,
She deals with her affrays.

I don’t know why I love her,
|Because she’s done me wrong,
She is a cagey cat and cur,
I guess I’m not that strong.

Pantomimes of punishment,
Pieces of pretence,
I’m waiting for atonement,
The words in my defence.

Fragmentation feelings,
It seems some fall apart,
Some sense sometimes comes from stealing,
The horse before the cart.

Paralysed by panic,
Whoever wins may lose,
The losers then turn manic,
I’m glad I’m not in their shoes.

Pieces of Parsimony,
The winners lost it all,
Bare and without money,
The meek and mild stand tall.

©

David Rudder
23rd November 2017

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.