Plein Soleil

Full sun

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readApr 9, 2023

--

Photograph by Author.

The purple sea of radiance
Plein Soleil is the full sun
Beating down unhindered
Summer is on the run

When the sun is at its zenith
Walk out without protection
And be burnt down to the core
With no means of resurrection

Metaphoric infiltration
Opening up the heart and soul
Bombarded by stark emotions
No half but always whole

The screens and other veils
Used to mute and render vague
Memories too hard to think of
Flooding like the plague

I don’t use drugs or alcohol.
Or indulge in misty ways.
Emotions are clear and well-defined.
Seen through the summer haze

Some too hard to handle
But are still their none the, less
As intricate a move to make
As in a game of chess

Images and feelings don’t disappear.
Though some fade into the night
And then the blazing morning sun
Refreshes memories with the light

I saw you on the beach of time
Naked in the midday sun
You fled from memories that have you
Up and on the run

In the hush of evening
When silky raindrops fall
In the archives of your mind
You’ll hear my distant call

Love and lust and litany
It is a curious combination
None defined but felt full on
Like ultraviolet illumination

Soak up the sun and memories.
Experiences and emotions
Stay embedded in a house
Or move to new locations

Wherever ere I wander
Wherever ere I roam
The memories of where I’ve been
Remain in my heart and home

I think I may go here or there
Can I keep ahead of where I’m driven
It’s exhausting and never-ending
When with fear, my heart is riven

I’m taking a new journey.
To put behind the past
Old memories still plague me
I wonder how long it will last

My journey’s drawing to an end.
Each day the sun dips lower.
The Plein Soleil that I once felt
It is calming and slower.

I’ve walked the walks and crossed the seas
Though my heart’s remained at home
My memories now hold a golden hue
Where I walk or roam

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and wish to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.