Reflections

Into the soul

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readApr 18, 2023

--

Photograph by Author

Sometimes the thoughts and images
Cascade so fast past my mind’s eye
I need to step back and contemplate.
And ask some questions why

The road has become so rocky.
And when I’m tired, I stumble and fall.
And what I did with ease before
Has now become a chore.

That’s the time for introspection.
A quiet look into the soul
To fit the pieces back together
And cajole what I can’t control.

Pensive times of clear reflection
Like the trees mirrored in the lake
Of my conscious thoughts and feelings
A soul search for my mind’s sake.

There are other ways of dealing.
With errant thoughts and some desires
To move ahead of impending dread
Until the energy expires.

Filling up the mind with thoughts
To escape the feelings and emotions
Spins the head into a vortex
A black hole deep as the ocean.

It may seem anti-social.
But sometimes we need time alone.
For some self-observation
And to tend the seeds we’ve sown.

When I’m feeling pensive
I know that it’s a gift.
To quietly contemplate
And give my soul a lift.

©

David Rudder
2016

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.