Sacrosanct

Too hallowed to dismantle.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJul 4, 2022

--

Photo by Isabella and Zsa Fischer on Unsplash

Traces of some places
remembered in a way
inviolate, they stay untouched
Yet they are here to stay.

Some thoughts I’ve caught are sacrosanct.
sit on a higher mantle
secure, safe, and sacred
Too hallowed to dismantle.

They laugh and linger restlessly.
seeking some expression
stored in the memory long ago
There since their inception.

They leak into my memory.
then wash my inner senses
and metamorphose into thoughts
Side-stepping my defences.

Once these thoughts materialise,
they wander through my mind
and seek an apt expression
In the core beneath the rind.

In places never visited.
on far and distant shores
washed up on untrodden sands
We are opening new doors.

Many thoughts I’ve left behind
untouchable and protected
stay sacrosanct and transmogrified
It is gathered and then collected.

And as the years drift on by
I fly by shifting sands.
and as I try to reach the sky
Attach the missing strands.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!
Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.