Sailing

In circles

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readOct 2, 2022

--

Photo by Oliver Sjöström on Unsplash

Anticipatory forces,
More potent than my will,
Using my resources,
I hope to get my fill.

Tokens of temptation,
Taken from my mind,
And the anticipation,
I oft find hard to find.

Sailing round in circles,
Cycles bide their time,
Higher are the hurdles,
On mountains that I climb.

Sense and synchronicity,
Sometimes lost in space,
Uncovering the alacrity,
Of the human race.

Watch and wait to anticipate,
The next move on the board,
And never underestimate,
The ultimate award.

From a mess the game of chess,
Is one move then another,
Until there comes the final test,
My mind then uncovers.

To reveal what is real,
Not balk or hesitate,
Opening up the seal,
On an actual date.

Anticipatory forces,
Many men at work,
Using my resources,
To never stop nor shirk.

I throw all caution to the wind
And breathe the salt sea air
sailing in circles
and with nere a care

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.