She Talks

Outside my window.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readMay 28, 2023

--

Photo by Thomas Park on Unsplash

She talks outside my window
And filters through the trees
In a language that I understand
The language of the breeze.

In the morn before the dawn
She whispers o’er the Bay
And moves the soft leaves waving
And heralds a new day.

I watch her from my vantage point
As she sweeps the clouds away
And lifts two eagles soaring
High above the ocean spray.

All the time she whispers
A song born in the nether
She travels o’er the land and sea
And through the purple heather.

She is the sailor’s companion
And respite from the summer heat
For a refreshing change in the air
She’s impossible to beat.

Her metaphors are magic
As she floats freely through the air
She washes away uncertainties
And leaves without a care.

She comes each day and, at night,
She gently fades until
The dawn comes softly stealing
She rarely will lay still.

© David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.