Sing Me a Song

Of the seasons

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readMar 4, 2023

--

Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

Sing me a song
of the seasons
For love, the love of my life
And a million other reasons

Sing me a song
Make its melody sunny
Whisper sweet things
I’ll always find funny

Let the silence of snow.
Lying deep in a drift
Be the peace I desire
The ultimate gift

Now sing to me softly.
Of long summer days
Let the sun warm my heart
In stunning golden rays

The ice and the snow
Hold the land in a hush
Far removed from all
the haste and rush

Sing me a song
Of the red morning sun
To awaken my body
And let my heart run

Then a sweet lullaby
Of the silence of snow
The polarity of life that
I’m eager to know

Now sing me a song
That I’ll always remember
Of the hot January sun
Till late heat in December

Then deep snow and silence
In winter, I trust
Falls through June and July
And freezing August

Sing me a sunny song.
To lift my heart
Through the light of the day
Before I depart

Then as the hush of the snow
In a cloak of pure white
Signals the end of the day
And the start of the night

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and wished to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.