Sleeping

With the enemy

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readJul 27, 2022

--

Photo by Chris Thompson on Unsplash

Sleeping with the enemy,
I’ve seen them in my dreams,
I wonder what’s the remedy,
Maybe beyond my means.

There are little bits of apathy,
Disturbing diatribes,
Mixed up with some empathy,
And inconsistent vibes.

And then there is the wondering,
When will morning come,
Outside, the clouds are thundering,
The weather feels glum.

It’s instances of attitudes
moments of meeting up,
And the pools of platitudes,
The songs they interrupt.

Sand and salty water,
Swimming in the sea,
I do it because I ought to,
It’s entirely up to me.

Sleeping with the enemy,
And dealing with deduction,
We thought it was the chemistry,
But maybe just seduction.

The neon lights are flashing,
Warnings everywhere,
Diablo is dashing,
The wind is in his hair.

Missing magic moments,
What is the legacy,
Mixing the components,
Sleeping with the enemy.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Click below for unlimited access to all Medium stories and poems for less than US $1/week.

Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.