Standing on the Edge

Of existence.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJun 9, 2024

--

Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

Standing on the edge of existence
I don’t know if I’ll stagger or fall
What I have is an unnerving feeling
That it could be a close call.

Which step will I take for my safety?
I feel insecure and don’t know
Whether to move away from the edge
Or is there somewhere else I can go?

There’s a terrace of melting moments
On the edge of my dreams in a thrall
Where I fear I’ll fall over the edge
As I stand teetering with little recall.

I wonder if these inexplicable feelings
Are they unknown or where did they come from
Spinning in a vortex of misunderstanding
Where am I and who planted the bomb?

Windstorms and changes in the weather
Ignites my senses for imminent action
I walk away from the edge to the rational side
The best solution and safe sure reaction.

I walk in the grass of the Garden of Eden
On one side was a cliff, and on the other was a green pasture
On one side there is a frown etched on my face
And on the other relief justice and laughter.

It was then I looked back over my shoulder
At the long-deserted stretches where I had been
That ahead in the far misty distance
There’s an oasis I’ve seen in a dream.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.