Storms of Starlight

Drifting in the sky.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJun 19, 2022

--

Photo by Rodrigo Soares on Unsplash

I stand next to a mystery.
starlight streams on fire
I cast a light into the night
To the sky, my eyes aspire.

Seeing storms of starlight,
drifting in the sky,
in the darkness of the night,
My mind is like a spy.

Are there extra-terrestrials,
somewhere out there in space,
written in another language,
Other than the human race.

In awe, I often wonder,
and watch the endless strand,
like lightning and thunder,
Stars form in a band.

Up above the Milky Way,
our nearest galaxy,
words I’ve never learned to say,
Form a starlit canopy.

Shooting stars and satellites,
the night song of a bird,
far away from city lights,
Hardly a whisper can be heard.

It has a magical quality,
and infuses my soul,
senses of a equality,
Both brave and very bold.

Earthly thoughts and worries,
scatter into mist,
in turbulence and flurries,
Is there something I have missed?

My mind is changed forever,
a metamorphosis,
in the never, never,
The universe is kissed.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!
Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.