Stormy

Weather.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJul 5, 2023

--

Photo by Boba Jovanovic on Unsplash

It’s cold, and the wind is blowing
It whistles through the rigging in my mind
The white horses are gaily gallivanting
Stormy weather of a different kind

You appear in my mind like lightning
A scintillating flash gone in my dreams
You ride the crests from southern darkness
And adorn your face with attitudes and schemes

Your words drift by like a symphony
Quietness a crescendo then a lull
You spread your wings and I discover
You dip and wheel like a silver gull

Then you leave for the north in a whisper
And I wonder if I’ll see you again
I can hear your echoes resounding in the tunnel
You’re the southbound whistle on a northbound train

Stormy weather is a signpost for departure
Seaspray blinds my vision ahead
I’m walking and am still going backwards
My winged shoes are weighed down by silver lead

There’s interference at the major intersection
The lights are gone the road has disappeared
There’s an ominous empty feeling in my stomach
I’m gazing at a face I’ve always feared

Goodbye to the tried true and tested
Au revoir to the places I have known
See you later for the sins I have committed
Ahead of stormy weather, I am blown

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.