Summertime Waves

Weave along the seashore

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readAug 1, 2022

--

Photo by Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

Some changes in the weather
It happens subtly.
Summertime waves weave along the seashore.
And evaporate to spray.

Some tumble and some are steep.
Others wash over my head.
I bob and weave and take a breath.
Some curl and splash instead.

I soak the sea up like a sponge.
When on my morning swim
There’s a parallel perception.
Each wave another whim.

Adaptation is a measure.
I call on constantly.
To move just like the ocean.
And attune instantly.

Swimming is a rhythm.
A horizontal dance
Massaging of the waters
In a metaphoric trance.

I swim my way to liberty.
A clearing of the mind
Like a ritual washing
And leave the grime behind.

It’s like a new beginning.
The way I start each day.
Adapting to the elements
when I go out to play

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Click below for unlimited access to all Medium stories and poems for less than US $1/week.

Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.