Swim

Or I might drown.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readDec 4, 2023

--

Photo by Jordan Whitfield on Unsplash

We’re all ensconced and cosy,
The rain comes tumbling down,
A ring around a rosy,
If we can’t swim we’ll drown.

It’s been a while and I smile,
Since we had some rain,
The Woodford duck’s walk-in file,
To a rain refrain.

There are those without clothes,
And some that saunter by,
Lordy lord nobody knows,
Whether to laugh or cry.

And as we watch there is a splotch,
Of thunder at Thirroul,
Time to carve another notch,
The weather’s now turned cool.

Dogs and mogs and furry things,
Don’t fret or call the vet,
Wait until the alarm rings,
It hasn’t happened yet.

When I sit I can’t backflip,
Somersault or settle down,
Or disappear when you’re near
And swim or I might drown.

I’m here for the duration,
My itinerary is fixed,
No polarisation,
The certainty transfixed.

So it seems that my dreams,
Sometimes go up in smoke,
And that the Universe deems,
That I’m an unusual bloke.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry. Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.