Swimming in the Sepulchre

Of silence.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJun 23, 2023

--

Photo by NEOM on Unsplash

Dappled signatures of suffused sunlight
Written on the sand under the sea
Rays of light birth and renewal
Cures my soul and sets my spirit free.

Suspended in the turquoise ocean
Washed by waves warmed by the morning sun
Caught in the glitter of diamonds
Woven fashioned and infinitely spun.

Fathoms disappear into illusions
Magnification elastic and enlarged
Magic is a matter of the moment
All responsibility is discharged.

Swimming in the sepulchre of silence
Sounds of silence sleekly resonate
Thoughts move to the missing
The one’s I solemnly dedicate.

In and out of caverns of seawater
Waves wash the salt into my eyes
I feel like I’m laughing and crying
Sun streams like darts out of the skies.

Beneath my feet, sand rises to meet me
The shallows have a language of their own
The erosion of a million lifetimes
By the wind and rain embedded and resown.

On the sea, the sunlight softly glistens
Field of diamonds stretching past my sight
Light breezes suffuse the sea surface
Dancing prisms of joy into pure delight.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.