Talking

On the telephone

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readJan 27, 2023

--

Photo by Onur Binay on Unsplash

Put the phone on speaker
Talk about the local news
Play follow the leader
Talk about what’s on my mind
Then listen when you talk
Then I’ll tell you where I went
When I took a walk
We’ll talk about the weather
Family and friends
What’s the latest magic cure
And that’s not where it ends
A bit of local gossip
Spices the conversation
Or talking about the pollies
And the demise of our nation
When we stop to take a breath
The mind stays in motion
Then we echo each other’s words
Spiked by an emotion
It’s based on camaraderie
And sharing information
What is new, and who is who
Smooth communication
We love to chat and share the news
Talking on the telephone
Ring me with some news, my dear
When you’re in the zone

Copyright reserved

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and wished to read more.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.