The Angel

Took flight

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readSep 16, 2022

--

Photo by Marek Studzinski on Unsplash

No one will know
how my golden halo
Fell from the sky
and then past heaven
deep into the night
The angel took fright.
and flew into my sight
At seven past eleven.

Interminable times
bells without chimes
and night riders
and bad dreams forsaken
Nightmares, called.
That left me appalled.
and held me captive
Before I’d awaken.

No rhyme or reason
or low or high treason
could release me
Now I’d been taken
even my lies
screams and my cries
could mitigate
How I’d been shaking

I’m currently flying high
lost up in the sky
a vortex
now whirls me around
My screams are blurred
by the wind or a bird
and my shrieks
Make hardly a sound

Demonic nightmares
and riveting stares
drove me
from heaven to hell
and even when awake
It’s impossible to shake.
the cast of
My last nightmare.

©

David Rudder
2011

Thanks for reading.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.