The Answers

Are written in the wind.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readNov 11, 2023

--

Thanks to Bob Dylan and YouTube.

Recalled and then conjoined
From another time and place
Reverberations haunt me
A distant memory trace

Is it an incantation
A chant with rhythm lost
Seeping through my senses
A bridge I haven’t crossed

Where do they come from
I’ve never worked that out
They enter without bidding
And fill my heart with doubt

It feels like a possession
Trapped inside the mire
Where elements are evident
A wreath of air and fire

I rarely see it coming
And don’t know it by name
When it descends upon me
With a sense of shame

Some call it depression
It has uncanny moods
With no known vanishing point
And rarely it concludes

It walks off with a whisper
Into another incantation
The chant continues
Like a magic intonation

I don’t know if it will disappear
Or know when it will go
The answers are written in the wind
It’s not for me to know

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry. Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.