The Desire

For a disguise.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readNov 4, 2023

--

Photo by Davide Cantelli on Unsplash

I look into the mirror
Who is it that I see
Is it an aspect of myself
Or is it really me

My eyes take in the facets
And discriminate perception
Are my features altered
According to expression

When viewed in a photograph
My image is unusual
The stranger in the group
Masked hidden and inscrutable

Critical conjecture
The desire for a disguise
An atmosphere and ambience
And new enterprise

Who do I really see
When I look into my eyes
Is it someone I adore
Or another I despise

Aspects and different angles
Some facets are more flattering
Deep lines and other signs
More likely to be shattering

I look into the mirror
Who is it that I see
Is it an aspect of myself
Or is it really me

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry. Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.