The Glass

Lagoon.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readMar 26, 2024

--

Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Where do you go to in the nighttime
do you disappear into your dreams
where everything is different
and nothing is quite as it seems?

When you wake has something vanished
or been vanquished and lost in the night
do your dreams affect how you are thinking
Is some part of your mind lost to sight?

Now, when I look deep into your eyes
I see reflections of another time
situated in another place
in a different rhythm and rhyme.

Memories circle around in my mind
some latent others unrealised
delivered on wings of the night bird
some real others idealised.

And then there’s the bridge o’er the river
that leads to the vanishing point
where some things are tangible others false
and life fits like a dovetail joint.

Myriads of memories cross the street
highways and byways of my mind
some spirits fly off into the mist
and others are left far behind.

I saw you in the sky last evening
as you floated away past the moon
then in the mist, of the early morning
I watched you glide on the glass lagoon.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.