The Invincibles

Last Forever

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readSep 19, 2022

--

Photo by Abdullah Alam on Unsplash

We thought we were invincible.
And would last forever.
As we wandered far and yon
Into the never, never

Driven by a prism
An optical illusion
Parts of art and mindset
There was no conclusion

And no consequence
On the road, I travelled
Step by step, I walked and leapt
As my life unravelled

Back and forth and heading north.
No designs on destinations
We worked as two as the wind blew
Absorbing all sensations

Then we arrived at the divide.
And a time to decide.
Which way the road travelled
On the meandering ride

Life is a knife and cuts
A fast-lasting incision
The track I took invincible
My mind in indecision

Blown by the wind
Like the breath of seasons
Here there, and everywhere
For no particular reasons

Years slip by and mingle.
The past is irreversible.
We don’t last forever.
Once we were the Invincibles

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.