The Island

It is my home.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readMay 17, 2024

--

Photo by Aamir Suhail on Unsplash

On a windswept island
With uninterrupted views
My mind soared o’er the ocean
For a perfect place to muse.

I picked up passing notions
And hummed a reverie
And soared across the heavens
And mapped the endless sea.

On wings and liberated
I saw my reflection
Mirrored in the sun and sky
Part of the contemplation.

The images diminished
Until I was left with one
Me alone by myself
With no other place to run.

With expectations narrowed
And simplicity, my food
I contemplated reflections
And changed to another mood.

An atmosphere and ambiance
Never seen before
Satisfaction and tranquility
Next to heaven’s door.

I flew away on wings of gold
To places in my dreams
A place of new acceptance
Amongst cool mountain streams.

When I awoke, my mind was still
The island is my home
Meditation envelops me
I never more will roam.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.