The Morning Bird

Is calling.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readDec 2, 2023

--

Photo by Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

The forecast feels different,
There’s something in the air,
It may be insignificant,
But caught me unaware.

Thumbs up is the signal,
It seems all systems go,
We have a mind to mingle,
Is something that I know.

The morning bird is calling,
The air is damp and warm,
Soft, soft rain is falling,
Though no sign of a storm.

I long to be out moving,
And on the road again,
It seems things are improving,
To move out of the den.

Me oh my the morning sky,
Is laden with dark clouds,
We’ll spread our wings and fly, fly, fly,
From the budding crowds.

Down a bush track far away,
Through mist and some light rain,
We’ll arrive later today,
Out west and safe again.

Thumbs up to the arrangements,
And the weather too,
We’ve cancelled our engagements,
There’s nothing else to do.

Thumbs up to the feeling,
We both have deep below,
As the night comes stealing,
Our thoughts go with the flow.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry. Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.