The Other Side

Of you

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readAug 16, 2022

--

Photo by Alex Blăjan on Unsplash

Where were you last night
When I reached out, you were gone.
In sleep, where I creep
I don’t know what’s going on.

Was that you that drifted by
like thin mist on the lake
enraptured by the night gods
That caused me a double take.

Is it the other side of you
Or the nectar you imbibe
that march you off into the night
Are you tuned to another vibe?

Is Orpheus out there waiting
to scoop you in his arms
Have your nighttime wanderings
succumbed to others’ charms.

Smooth poets and musicians
Kneel and espouse temptation
with soporific rhymes
Into a seductive predisposition.

Daylight filters in the room
Where you once lay is empty.
Who has stolen you away?
Your fragrance and your beauty

Will the dream now drift apart?
And will you ere return
or has my awakening
turned into concern

I saw you lie in silhouette
In a flower bed, you lay
Where do your dreams take you
When you are away

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Click below for unlimited access to all Medium stories and poems for less than US $1/week.

Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.