Poetic Essences

The Seas I Sail

Sometimes it is stormy.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

--

Photo by Boba Jovanovic on Unsplash

I fill most days with fortitude,
One step at a time,
A part of my existence,
And then write it down in rhyme.

I like to think rather than sink,
I stand up and prevail,
It’s not about winning,
It’s the seas I sail.

Sometimes it is stormy,
Then there is a fairer breeze,
The wind lack is at my back,
And filters through the trees.

It’s all about companionship,
The love that’s in my heart,
And the will to prevail,
And make a new start.

Slowly I am sailing,
Across the peaks and troughs,
Dancing through white horses,
Past their neighs and coughs.

I sigh sometimes and soften,
And chance each circumstance,
And when my spirits lift,
My feet move to the dance.

I prevail where others fail,
By my strict regime,
And survey the opportunity,
Then scrutinize the scene.

Ask me if it’s only,
The moods that shift and sail,
It’s living in the moment,
Helps me to prevail.

©

David Rudder
2017

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports David Rudder and other writers you read. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you a wonderful platform to publish and earn from your own poetry, photographs, and stories on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.