The Shrine

Of satisfaction.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readMay 24, 2022

--

Photo by Rebecca Peterson-Hall on Unsplash

In the night, I saw your light
A sweet celestial sight
The shrine of satisfaction
Lighting up the night.

I saw you softly flickering.
Creating atmosphere
The sweet scent of your presence
Signalled you were near.

You always are so subtle.
And fill me with delight.
As you seep into my senses
Every night.

You live beside the altar.
The shrine of satisfaction
And draw designs on the wall
In abstract refraction.

You seem like an enigma.
A mystery of mine
I see you in the candlelight
You’re my spirit and my shrine.

You light the path I travel.
And a twinkle in my tent.
Like the star of Bethlehem
It seems you are heaven-sent.

I look outside my window.
And see you in the sky.
Your light remains in my heart.
A flame that cannot die.

You drift amongst the stars at night
And melt away my frown
And liberate my senses
Wearing your silver gown.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.