The Still of the Night

Delight

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readOct 15, 2022

--

Photograph by Author

In the still of the night, much to my delight.
Fresh cool air drifted through my door.
Picked up by the breeze stirring through the trees
Fresh air from the ceiling to the floor.

Climate change has rearranged the weather.
The humidity is near one hundred degrees
I’m left wrung out and feeling depleted.
The hot weather has brought me to my knees.

Out on the Bay, another hot day
Emerges from the coolness of the dawn
The birds bathe in the cool birdbaths.
And fresh dew glistens on the lawn.

The best time of the day is the morning.
Cool fresh air permeates the scene.
I go out in the sun at my peril.
With a hat on and covered in sunscreen

The daylight stretches on forever.
This change this day has brought.
The fan whirrs to keep the airflow moving
The aircon is a support backup.

In the garden, the plants are flourishing.
With the assistance of water morn and night
The tea tree’s flowers are like snowdrops.
The hot springtime light accentuates it.

Inside my chest, my heart is beating.
Fresh air fills my lungs as I push on.
And take a walk on this new morning.
And await more all summer long.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.