There is Something

In the air

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readDec 3, 2022

--

Photograph thanks to Lynn Talbott

I know there’s something in the air,
Too strong to dismiss,
The sweet smell of summer,
And the flowers she has kissed.

It blows through my window,
And permeates the house,
The northern wind carries it,
And impossible to douse.

It’s mostly intermittent,
And floats free in the air,
Giving me hay fever,
And my eyes a scare.

Headaches and hay fever,
Stuffy in the nose,
Intermittent sneezing,
Whenever the wind blows.

It’s far too cold in winter,
The summer heats too strong,
Autumn and spring, I know,
It is where I truly belong.

So let me off the treadmill,
When will the pollen stop,
Blowing in my windows,
I wish the wind would drop.

Lady luck is lingering,
I know to go with the flow,
Patience is a virtue,
Something I should know.

Intermittent energy,
On-off and in between,
The knowledge that I’m learning,
a love that I can glean.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.