Tiers

The last song

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJan 31, 2023

--

Photo by Chris Barbalis on Unsplash

Rows and rows, and who knows
How many tiers and layers,
Lined up in the likelihood,
The inhabitants are stayers.

Tears for fears in arrears,
The rent has to be paid,
Money, money, it isn’t funny,
The golden goose hasn’t laid.

Limber as a cinder,
Keep the home fires burning,
Climbing up the ladder,
To satisfy my yearning.

Now I know it’s time to go,
The temperature is rising,
I’ve made the grade, and I bid,
I find that not surprising.

Tiers appear and tremble,
The Richter Scale is rocked,
Surf in on the Tsunami,
The pollies may have mocked.

As fear nears the fulsome,
Revenge is served up cold,
Tiers of termination,
They are the best, so I’ve been told.

Walking over water,
Past the last parade,
Seeing love is listening,
To sounds of the charade.

When I go, you will know?
And not wonder where I’ve gone,
Echelons of energy,
Tiers of the last song.

© David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and wished to read more.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.