Trusting

My instinct

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readDec 18, 2022

--

Photo by Riccardo Annandale on Unsplash

I’ve learned to trust my instinct,
I know it serves me well,
It rears its head and is distinct,
With answers, I can tell.

Are always the right ones,
I trust myself,
They speak to me in ancient tongues,
And are my strength and wealth.

I’m presented with presentiments,
A feeling in my bones,
And I know these instruments,
Are not mine alone.

There is an inner circle,
Where there’s a sense of peace,
A nut within a kernel,
Where one’s fear will cease.

I know I must be patient,
And bide each premonition,
And not be complacent,
And that is my ambition.

Here and there and everywhere,
New challenges present,
And I say a silent prayer,
That is my intent.

It’s like a funny feeling,
A hunch or a sixth sense,
That sends my senses reeling,
And calls for my defence.

I live a better life now,
For what it is meant,
Now that I do allow it,
That feeling of presentiment.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.