Twilight

Zone.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readApr 27, 2024

--

Photo by frank mckenna on Unsplash

Down by the shore, there’s so much more
The restless sea and me
Where my mind flies by the wind
A place I can be free.

Far away, beyond the reach.
Of thought or fantasy
Encapsulated in a cave
Down close to the sea.

A secret place I only know
And where I often go
To watch birds drift in the heavens
And feel the north wind blow.

Sunshine warms up the daytime.
Blue shadows cool the dark.
In a secret place of simplicity
Right next to my heart.

I don’t need dreams to fly away
Or feet to roam the ground
It’s deep within my heart and soul
A place that I have found.

My secret side is heavenly.
Inviolate and secure
The place I go to heal myself
My panacea and cure.

When I die, I’ll eclipse
And escape all sight
My secret self will still survive
And drift throughout the night.

The soul is my persona.
The secret caves in my home
The great outdoors, the freedom
Then there’s the twilight zone.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.