Under Covers

Blanket

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readMay 23, 2023

--

Photo by Joel Overbeck on Unsplash

It seems like a security blanket
The clouds have covered the sun
The Bay has turned grey; all I can say
The covers overhead are all good fun

They make me feel safe in the summer
A respite from fierce heat and fire
Raindrops glisten in my garden
And birds arrive that I admire

The morning walk’s a refresher
Drizzle falls from the sky
Its sweet caress is a panacea
And a respite from the dry

I feel like I’m wrapped in a blanket
And safe when I stay inside
The grass has turned a dark green
In the garden where my eyes reside

Everything is soft and subtle
The birdsong is muted and sweet
The sounds of leaves softly rustling
The rain’s a melodious beat

There’s freshness in the flora
The trees drink in the soft rain
It brings a new optimism
Nothing we do is in vain

I’m covered by my umbrella
My skin feels moisture in the air
I’m at one with the covers above me
Here I hide like a bear in his lair

©

David Rudder
2020

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.